Expanding My Photography Horizons…

For the last 6 months or so, I have been talking to everyone about how I wanted to upgrade from my dinky point and shoot Samsung, to a more elaborate set up. Well, after discussing it with the hubby, he agreed that since I was taking up a more serious attitude towards photography (which includes doing free photo shoots to earn some extra $$) that I could go a little more professional. My first and foremost choice was to get a Nikon D90, which I originally found for an awesome price, but at the time, I didn’t have the moola to get it. :o( And not that I was trying to copy Jenn (her post here), but I thought I shouldn’t just jump the gun to get an all out professional set up. This way, it helps that if I need help with equipment, since she’ll have her own, I may be able to get some tips and tidbits. ;o)
So, as I was perusing the internet for some great deals, this is what I found:

Canon EOS Digital Rebel XS 1000D Camera Body

Remote Switch Cord for Canon SLR Camera


Power Auto Digital Flash Clip-On and Slave

Hard Shell Case for Photo Equipment

Tamron AF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Standard Lens
Tamron AF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 Standard Telephoto Zoom Lens


500mm f/8.0 Reflex Mirror Lens for SLR and Digital SLR Cameras

Pioneer G3 Slingshot Backpack for Photo Gear


Padded Case for Digital SLR Camera

Multi Section Large Video / Photo Tripod


It has quite a few more goodies in the mix, but these were the most important. The price was only about an extra $100 more than what I truly wanted to spend, but the amount of stuff that comes in this mega kit was too good to pass up.

I almost gave up the thought of upgrading to an awesome, utterly amazing camera. All because people kept telling me that it wasn’t about the camera, it was all about the photo editing software. Well, I believe that the camera wouldn’t be creme de la creme if it wasn’t a big deal. So, watch out. If you thought that I was camera happy before, this has just opened a new can of worms! ;o)

Props to Jenn, I hope to possibly get some knowledge, maybe we can help each other. ;o)

It gets paid for on Monday and then it’s 10 days to go til it arrives!
2 Comments

Filed under New Camera

2 responses to “Expanding My Photography Horizons…

  1. Congrats! Waiting on the shipping is truly the worst though.

    (And yes, you really DO need the software….it makes all the difference in the world. I have talked to many, many people about it and not one person goes solo with just a camera in hand. You should shop around and see if you can find Photoshop Elements for a good price.)

  2. ♥Jacqueline♥

    I’ve got Paint.net and am currently using photoshop for free 30 days, Paint.net works great for blog layouts, but not so good for the editing. :o(