Mommy & Me Adventure 1.8: Silver City, Idaho

Today, Jeff and I decided to go out on a Mommy & Me adventure. Location of choice? Silver City. I couldn’t wait. I really wanted this to be a photo opp, but it quickly turned for the worse when I realized that I forgot to charge my battery for my camera. Duh. SO, with that being said, I had to turn to my cell phone’s camera {which to my surprise} and it just so happened to turn out fairly decent, considering.

First up, I had to use the bathroom. Really bad! Trust me when I say, you drive about 23 miles on just a dirt road, going 25 mph, you’d have to go too. And this is what I found. I couldn’t help but take a picture, only because it surely wasn’t what I expected…

After a restroom break, we went to the historic cemetery. It was awesome! Although, it was a bit creepy. I took a couple pictures of some headstones, and they didn’t save to my phone. All the other photos did, but those. Anyway, here’s one that I did manage to capture…

There were paths all throughout this cemetery, not like your normal cemeteries, so it was a bit more convenient to let Jeff walk {walking on people’s graves are not my cup of tea} as opposed to having to carry him. I love this picture {even if the backdrop is a bit morbid}

After our little walk, we went back into the little town to see some of the old buildings. They were so cool. This town is privately owned and operated, so every dollar received counts. This is the town’s current renovation project, they’re fixing up the old 1892 school house and from what I could see, it was in great condition from the outside…

And I’m far from being religious, but there was something about this little old church, up on the hill that captivated me. What did bother me about it was that you couldn’t drive up to it. If you wanted to go see it, you would have to trek your ass up the effin’ hill. And considering that I didn’t feel like it, I shot it from down below. lol.

After a quick stop at a local shop {HAD to get some souvenirs of course!}, we asked about the possibility of any “haunted” locations. She stated that there were speculations of the Idaho Hotel and the Masonic Lodge being haunted; however, in her 30+ years living there, she hadn’t seen one yet. So, I’m still skeptical, but it was really neat to hear that it was a possibility…

After a great little trip, we decided we wanted to get home before the sun went down {being on a long dirt road, that I didn’t know, wasn’t going to be somewhere that I wanted to be in the middle of the night}. I’ve always wondered, why does the trip home always seem faster than getting to your original destination??

This has been another successful Mommy & Me Adventure… I wonder how many more I can get in before school starts… Hmmmm…

Comments Off on Mommy & Me Adventure 1.8: Silver City, Idaho

Filed under Events and Activities, Family Time, Mommy and Me Adventures, My Son

Comments are closed.