Photographers Plague K.A. Park

I chose photography as my creative outlet. Everything I do revolves around whether or not my camera is involved. I feel it is very important to document every experience of my life. Not necessarily for the world to see, but so that those memories that I hold near and dear to my heart are a photo album away. With more people turning to their creative outlets, the flux of up and coming photographers have changed the culture of this wonderful art. I understand that with running a business that there are going to be thoughts on what to do to get ahead. That’s a given, but there comes a time when a person needs to learn and grow – share their knowledge with others, possibly learn something new along the way. One of these important things is about being a photographer that has some common courtesy.

Earlier today, a couple and I met at Kathryn Albertson Park to get a few engagement shots before moving on to our next location. I could hardly believe my eyes. There were at least 7 photographers with families walking around, not to mention that even if you tried to take a few shots, they would walk right in front of your camera. It was horrible! We spent more time waiting for people to walk past then we did actually getting photos!

So. If you’re a photographer and live in the Treasure Valley {Idaho} area, here are some wise words of wisdom: If you’d like a rather less stressful location for photos, steer clear from Kathryn Albertson Park, Ann Morrison Park, & The Boise Train Depot. Too busy and way over used!

2 Comments

Filed under Photography

2 responses to “Photographers Plague K.A. Park

  1. memorylanephoto

    I’ve been having the same experience. In fact, if I’m in the middle of the shoot and notice we are approaching another group, I will flat out instruct my clients to stop until the other photographer is done. I hate it when it’s done to me, so I try to stay out of other people’s shots. Seems like I have been at K.A. Park every weekend for the last 5 or 6 in a row, and there are TONS of people there. Even people doing shoots with their camera phones – no joke! I almost cringe when the client suggests that location anymore. Time to go exploring again to find a scenic, yet less populated location. But until then, I have been editing people straight out of my shots. Phew for Photoshop, lol!

    • I hear ya! If I come across any less populated spots, I’ll be sure to give you the 411 cause at this point, I’m. Boycotting those locations if at all possible… 🙂